//
you're reading...
recipes, Two-and-a-half-minute Fiction Prahject

Two-and-a-half-minute Fiction ‘Prahject’: Take 27

This week I’d like to share a story along with a recipe, neither of which I am the author.

My mom has a Chinaberry cookbook filled with recipes and stories about where the recipes came from. Yesterday we made out our list of cookies that we’ll make for Christmas and I finally read the entry for “Mocha Snow Balls.”

the coffee lover's version of a cherry snowball. divine.

Consider this delightful memory this week’s installment (plus the return of the recipe card).

Mocha Snow Balls

I discovered this cookie while working in Lovell, Maine at Farrington’s on Kezar Lake. I was 17 and waitressing with my little sister and a bunch of other teenagers for the summer. We lived in the dorms above the inn. The baker made delicious cookies to serve at lunch, which usually took place down on the beach or out on a pontoon boat. Mocah Snow Balls were my favorites. By the end of the summer, I had eked the recipe out of Robin, the baker. Now everyone who knows me has the recipe too!

– Elizabeth J. Atkinson Eames; Rowley, Massachusetts

click for larger view


Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Prah 2.0 on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

