//
you're reading...
life of erin, pets, Two-and-a-half-minute Fiction Prahject

Two-and-a-half-minute Fiction ‘Prahject’: Take 23

To know me, is to know I love a few things without fail.

Babies.

baby cousin Lizzy

Furry animals.

Jack

Sugar.

NOM NOM NOM NOMMM

I encountered all three this weekend. And happily so. And I swear, I started a short story about 20 different times in my head. Here are JUST A FEW(!) lines I came up with this weekend:

Pulling her hand out of her coat pockets, she found two aspirin in one pocket, and a tissue and a Hershey Kiss foil in the other. It was her mom’s coat she had accidentally grabbed from the hanger and her mom apparently stuffed her pockets full of irony….

He put his arm around her chair. Not her shoulders. Her chair. It was a kind of ownership that said, I not only protect her, I protect the chair she sits in, and I’m here because I want to be….

The dentist asked him to open his mouth and a invisible fog of purple sugar came out. “What did you eat before you came?” the dentist asked. “A glass of grape juice and pop rocks,” he said. “What are you, five?” the dentist asked. He didn’t think dentists were supposed to be so judging…

She held the glass up to the light, inspected the wine. Eyed it good, like it was a shrewd crossword puzzle to be figured out. She sniffed it. She took a sip. She closed her eyes and didn’t move. She didn’t move for a whole 30 seconds. Thirty seconds. When she opened her eyes, she said, “I don’t really care for this one.” As it would turn out, she wouldn’t like any of them, but you never would have guessed it…

“I couldn’t understand him. He kept talking about the core of the earth and that’s where heaven and hell is and there are computer cords coming out of it. I didn’t know what to say,” she said panicked. “So what did you say?” I asked. “I asked him if the cats in the core of the earth ever chew on the computer cords. He said there aren’t any cats there, but the dogs there do.”

So take these ultra-mini-novellas this week as my two-and-a-half-minute offering. Someday they will each be their own story. Until then, their birthright lives on here.

Oh, and next week NPR announces the Three Minute Fiction winner. I have no idea how they will choose. The ones posted this week as favorites are great. So much emotion created in such little space. “Bargaining” was my favorite this week.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Prah 2.0 on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

