//
you're reading...
Hockey, in the news, life of erin, pets, pop culture, recipes

‘prahdictably’, something was bound to go wrong

Sorry for the hiatus, but we’re back in action. Jack has been sick for the past few days, so making sure he’s getting back up to speed has been my purpose lately.

This story should be prefaced with Jack’s nickname – Pooper. The boy is just a glittering specimen of digestive and excretion prowess. I am proud to clean his litter box. And you know it’s a trueblue nickname, when my Dad comes homes and asks:

“Where’s Pooper?”

Jack

Who you callin' Pooper?

On Monday I noticed Jack was taking trips to the litter box, again, and again, and again, but no glittering specimen was left behind. Problem. A few phone calls to the vet and a couple frantic phone conversations sent us to the vets for an emergency visit. One expelled bladder and one antibiotic later, Jack was diagnosed with a UTI. We came home and the poor thing was still under the last few clouds of sedation. When I took him out of his carrier, this is literally the first thing I thought of:

Puss in Boots from Shrek

Courtesy of imdb.com

The eyes had it.

It was hard to watch as he stumbled to walk and looked at the living room like a bobble-head doll. I wasn’t sure if he could make it to the litter box on his own if he followed me upstairs to bed like he usually does, so I slept downstairs with him and he slept curled up in his usual place. Me on my side, Jack curled into a perfect “C” shape next to my belly.

But this morning I got the best present a pet owner could truly get: a healthy No. 2, a BIG No. 2 in the litter box. We are on our way to recovery, folks.

So Jack and I are on our way to getting back to this:

happy girl and her kitten circa 1940

again, genna, thank you for this priceless find.

… and meanwhile the rest of the world is going hell in a hand basket. Gonch is gone to Ottawa. Michalek and Martin sign on with the Pens for a combined $45 million for a combined 10 years. Or something like that. Kagan is going through her hearings. The oil spill is still … spilling. And I have still been cooking, including this recipe for guacamole. I didn’t have the Serrano chiles or fresh cilantro, so I swapped in garlic, but it was IMPERATIVE THAT I MAKE THE GUAC NOW. I made it when my Mom came home with PERFECT, and I mean PERFECT, avocados. They were like butta. My mom and I finished the bowl almost on site.

guacamole

guacamole HEAVEN

There’s a trick for knowing when you’ve got prize ripened avocados. Push your finger into your cheek. If your avocado feels like this, it’s too soft. Push your forehead. That’s too hard. Push the tip of your nose, that’s juuuuuuust right. If you find avocados like this, STOP EVERYTHING AND MAKE GUACAMOLE.

recipe for guacamole

I’ve been making a list in my head these past few days of all the things I wanted to mention in this post. And right now all I can think of is Jack, guacamole and the Pens. Fail.

Today was brought to you by: “Up in the Air.” I finally watched it through Netflix tonight and Iiiii liked it. I liked it a lot. Especially Anna Kendrick. Five Prah 2.0 stars.

Good night.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “‘prahdictably’, something was bound to go wrong

  1. I’ve heard that keeping the pit in the guac, adding lemon or lime juice, and/or placing plastic wrap directly on top of the guac keeps it from browning. Have you tried any of these?

    Posted by Amanda | July 1, 2010, 8:59 pm
    • lime juice could be a taste thing. Personally I don’t like lime juice in my guac (and the guacamole is never around long enough for it go brown in this house) but the plastic wrap will definitely fix that. the brown is the avocado oxidizing. if you make sure the plastic wrap is directly on top of the guac so there’s no air exposure you’ll be great. the pic idea is interesting though …

      Posted by erinprah | July 1, 2010, 9:21 pm
  2. You might want to try adding some lime juice anyway for taste. It just gives it nice extra something.

    Posted by Jess N | July 1, 2010, 9:49 pm
    • Haha opened this post earlier than your reply to Amanda and only commented awhile later, so I didn’t see your reply. Oops.

      Where’s a delete button when you need one?

      Posted by Jess N | July 1, 2010, 9:51 pm

Leave a Reply

Prah 2.0 on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

