//
you're reading...
pop culture, recipes

the world has ‘prahvoked’ me to the edge today

Now I know why country singers write the songs they do. Some days the world just hands you bowl of suck and all you’ve got to clean it up with is a thin generic-brand Kleenex.

Click this photo. Most adorable website EVER.

So yeah, today was a recipe for awful:

1 cup of banking problems

3/4 cup of I-don’t-have-health-care-anymore

1 1/2 cups of my-cat-is-going-to-shred-my-mother’s-expensive-curtains

4 cups of my-job-search-is-giving-me-hypertension

1 TBS of imminent-reality-of-having-to-find-a-job-outside-of-media

AND TEN PARTS THIS.

This last little “seasoning” of imminent-reality has grown from a dash, to a pinch, to a teaspoon, to now a Tablespoon. I tell myself if I don’t fill up the medicine cabinet with my things and keep all my bottles in the carrier I brought from my old apartment, I’ll find a job and move out soon. As soon as my apricot exfoliator steps a toe into that cabinet, it’s over.

In the realm of distraction, I planted a basil plant on Sunday, as well as some rye, barley, oats and wheat grass for Jack to chew on. I want to have basil coming out of my EARS this summer. Pesto, pizza, pasta. I’m contemplating a basil martini recipe.

This is Mary, my fine, sturdy basil plant.

This is the first plant in my Victory garden. This is not Victory garden circa 1942. This is Victory garden circa 2010 and victory = employment. I’d like my next garden addition to be: strawberries. Mmmm yummy.

Sunday I made a pizza and it looked like this:

That is a red pepper, olive, onion and fresh Basil pizza. Baked on my homemade pizza dough. As Rachael Ray says YUM-O.

I was pretty proud of this pizza. I made the dough that day in my food processor and froze half. Man, is there a difference between regular flour and bread flour. I used a whole wheat bread flour and boy was this crust fluffier. I also used a pizza stone and sprinkled the top of the stone with cornmeal and FINALLY THE BOTTOM OF MY PIZZA WASN’T SOGGY. LIFE = COMPLETE.

It’s the small things, people.

Fiction coming later. Promise promise.

Ladies, how do you feel about this? I think it’s awesome, but then again, if shopping is your thing you could feel like you’re missing out of the experience.

Today is brought to you by blackberry pie. It’s what’s for dessert and it’s staring a hole in me:

PIEEEEEEEEEE. Click for a classic video.

Discussion

One thought on “the world has ‘prahvoked’ me to the edge today

  1. Trying on clothes without actually having to try on clothes…

    Yes, please.

    Also, your food photos are making me hungry.

    Posted by Amanda | June 15, 2010, 4:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Prah 2.0 on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

