//
you're reading...
in the news, pop culture, sports

‘prahjecting’ a World Cup weekend

There are things I hate: paying bills whilst unemployed, having a fever, my quick descent into ugly town these past few sick days. And then there are things that I dislike, but wish I loved: olives, push-up bras, tequila, the NBA.

love olive oil. just not the olive. it's wrong, i know.

I watched Game 4 with the Lakers/Celtics last night and … I fell asleep. I can’t help it! I just can’t get into the NBA. I wish I could. I wish I loved it. I wished I slobbered over Glen Davis’s drool while he put up 14 points in 6 minutes, or something like that, I wasn’t pay close enough attention. But I don’t. I talked to my friend Travis about it the other day and he might have said it best:

Travis: it’s just kinda insulting to watch, i mean 6-foot-10 inch guys, who, with their arms fully extended upright stand close to 11 feet tall, shooting at a 10-foot hoop……

I think that’s really the crux of it for me. NBA players are born tall. They can’t change that. Granted not all are NBA tall, but they’re still tall to the rest of us (Steve Nash?). They are born with this advantage. In no other sport can something innate give you an advantage in the game. Football players can acquire size and skill through training and watching film. Size can determine position, but doesn’t eliminate your chance to succeed in football. It doesn’t help a hockey player to be born short or tall, they only need a loose attachment to their teeth. Soccer players come in all shapes and sizes. Ditto that x100 for baseball players. (Have you seen Matt Capps lately? Disregard the Buccos uni, he’s a Nat now.)

GET. IN. MA. BELLAYYYYYY

But then I realized, I like college basketball. I fill out my NCAA bracket every year. I watch the games. I almost cried when Butler lost this year. I even enjoyed watching Penn State basketball. Yeah. So what gives? Is it because there’s no Pittsburgh team? I could root for Cleveland. I like LeBron. As much as someone who doesn’t like the NBA can like a NBA player.

So help me out. Someone give me a reason to fall in love with the NBA. Or at least more reasons to continue to be indifferent about it.

Today is brought to you by THE WORLD CUP. OBVIO. I know very few players (of whom my knowledge of is thanks to James by letting me beat him in a soccer video game freshman year, thanks buddy.) But c’mon, who’s not going to watch USA vs. England tomorrow. Plus the Google logo is SAAWEEEEET.

OLE OLE OLE OLEEEEEE

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Prah 2.0 on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

