//
you're reading...
Hockey, in the news, pop culture, sports

updated: this is getting ‘prahthetic!’

OK. I’ve had just about enough of this. Chrissy Pronger? Cindy Crosby? Looks like Tarzan, skates like Jane?? ENOUGH. Changing a guy’s name to a similar sounding girl’s name should not and DOES NOT equivocate weakness. You writing this down, Chicago Tribune? This is the freaking 21st century. I’m tired of seeing being a female associated with weakness. I skated better than more than half of the guys in my college ice skating class. (My accolades include receiving a full body check from a fellow (guy) classmate during an overzealous game of broom ball, a broken finger, bruises all over my legs from playing goalie, AND a natural hat trick. What are you gonna do? Change my name to Aaron? Get a life.)

you know what? i bet pronger skates better in a skirt. less friction. and you gotta wonder whose legs they photoshopped onto him.

Shame on you, Chicago Trib. Also, this pretty much guarantees a Blackhawks loss. You’re only going to make him more agitated, increasing the likelihood of my theory: the Flyers will kill someone in Game 6. I’m not saying I want this to happen, I’m saying I think it probably will happen.

UPDATE: Turns out Philadelphia is just as guilty. Philly.com is asking Flyers fans, “Who wears the skirt for the Blackhawks? Again, wearing a skirt does not insinuate lack of physical prowess. And this is coming from some of the biggest media outlets in the country? This kind of coverage takes no brain power. Stop being lazy and actually find an interesting angle to write about. A driveling two-year-old kid could come up with these “insults.” Be better than a two year old.

Also, solid daytime TV viewing on The Hallmark Channel with “Who’s the Boss.” Young Alyssa Milano and Tony Danza and the shoulder pads in the costuming really take me back. Plus, a primo theme song.

In other news I just walked into a wall. My equilibrium is off. I think I have an ear infection. Great.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “updated: this is getting ‘prahthetic!’

  1. I will vouch for the fact that you skated better than probably a full 75% of that class, and for what it’s worth, despite my comparatively low hip:waist ratio, my coarse skin, and my abundance of body hair, I still cannot stop properly on ice skates.

    Posted by Adam Clair | June 9, 2010, 1:10 pm
  2. stopping is overrated, Adam. why stop when you can slowly glide to a gradual end?

    Posted by erinprah | June 9, 2010, 1:15 pm

Leave a Reply

Prah 2.0 on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

