//
you're reading...
Hockey, in the news, pop culture, sports

‘prahgnosis’: sick as a dog

Life has finally caught up with me. What I construed as a harmless, ohhh-it’s-just-a-reaction-to-someone-cutting-the-grass, turned into a full-on assault on my sinuses before I went to bed. And in my fitful sleep, what did I dream about?

the National's baseball Jesus

That’s right. Strasburg. Stephen freakin Strasburg. He smoked my Buccos in his MLB debut and set the blogosphere on it’s head. The irony here of course, is the incredible amount of credibility the Strasburg lovers are giving the Pirates by lauding over his first win. I get it. It’s a big deal. 14 Ks. Zero walks. History books. I know it. But he did give up a homer to Delwyn Young, who, let’s be honest, no one’s really heard of until this morning’s game cappers in the newspaper, mentioned in the footnotes practically.

UGH. SO FRUSTRATING. I don’t think I’d care so much if my head didn’t feel like it were about to explode. Or if my nose would stop running. Or if I could see through my watery eyes. Or if I could eat something, because my teeth hurt. Yeah. My teeth hurt. I’d look this up on WebMD, but the last time I did that I had a hangover, not realizing that what I was experiencing was, infact, a hangover. I wish I was joking.

They have a magazine? And got Salma Hayek to pose for the cover? I'll have a real opinion about this when I can breathe through my nose again.

SCF tonight. I’ll watch it if I haven’t already rubbed my eyeballs out of their sockets, which would be a shame because this game is going to be worth watching. Oh, and don’t construe this as an apology, Philadelphia, but I was told that 610 AM would have aired the game on the radio when I was passing through your city. I’m going to chalk this up to either a) too many commercials so I missed the game calling b) poor advertising c) weak radio signals. This is all to say: not my fault.

Katharine Hepburn via "The Philadelphia Story": Iya trust this will neva happen again? Cary Grant: Don't bet your Boston accent, Red.

And while we’re on the subject, where have all the Cary Grants of the world gone? Has Surrey stopped making them? Thank God for instant Netflix.

We interrupt your normal blogcast to bring you some kind of lemonade/iced tea concoction I just made that would make Arnold Palmer proud.

Speaking of SportsCenter, I am LOVIN their commercials this year. 2010 has been the year of the SportsCenter commercial. My favorites include Dwight Howard’s Superman cameo, van Pelt’s Canadian assault, and Landon Donovan’s yellow card poppin scanner. But my absolute favorite, of all time, forever and ever amen, is this one:

It’s comedic genius. When I grow up I want to make SportsCenter commercials. Not joking.

Today is brought to you by technology, because it is going to distract me all day so I forget I’m sick. Netflix, blogging, gchat, Twitter, email, iPhone, and playing SportsCenter commercials on loop. (Plays Big Time Timmy Jim commercial again.)

Discussion

5 thoughts on “‘prahgnosis’: sick as a dog

  1. Feel better E. Prah! (I hope your health imprahves.)

    Posted by Amanda | June 9, 2010, 11:36 am
  2. thanks, Amanda!

    Posted by erinprah | June 9, 2010, 11:40 am
  3. I have in fact WebMD’d a hangover. I WebMD sneezes, coughs, twitches and that weird feeling you get when do too many ab workouts in one day and you are convinced you have a hernia. Thanks for letting me know they have a magazine. This will be the downfall of my social life, I already want to live in a bubble. =]

    Posted by Sara | June 9, 2010, 12:41 pm
  4. Oh my god, Sara, I did that once too! The ab workout/hernia thing! I’m depressed about the magazine too … le sigh.

    Posted by erinprah | June 9, 2010, 1:08 pm
  5. This article is great man! Check out mine, I really wanna hear what you think about my thoughts. http://chrisross91.wordpress.com/

    Posted by Chris Ross | June 9, 2010, 3:53 pm

Leave a Reply

Prah 2.0 on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

