//
you're reading...
Hockey, in the news, pop culture, sports

prah family ‘prahgeny’ turn 1!

This is excuse blog, home to all the reasons I haven’t been posting. But I stayed true to my word and delivered the third two-and-a-half-minute fiction piece yesterday. So here goes:

My sister got back from Eastern and Central Europe and brought me this:

does my sister know me well, or does my sister know me well, huh?

My cousins from Florida came to Pennsylvania for their first birthday. Their party was Sunday, where I took probably the best sequence of photos I’ve ever taken. Exhibit A:

Young Michael eyes the flame, thumb securely tucked into mouth, unsure what to make of it.

He decides to throw caution to the wind as his thumb leaves the comfort of his mouth to learn more of this ... "birthday candle."

Pain, inevitably, follows.

And in keeping with the code of twin solidarity, Lizzie cries too.

My uncle later said it was Mikey’s way of asserting his masculinity while wearing a feathered birthday hat. Regardless, this was definitely not a “He likes it! Hey, Mikey!” moment.

Then that same day, I spent 10 hours on the PA Turnpike (kill me), entered and exited the dirty Jerz in less than 2 hours, and got home at 4 a.m. Needless to say, I slept until forever on Monday … except oh wait! I didn’t! Because around 10 a.m. Jack started gnawing my hair to get me up to feed him. Sigh.

But it’s all good, because yesterday was also my Mother’s birthday. So there was more cake and more singing, but less singed baby fingers.

I have one thing to say to you Philadelphia Flyers fans: You call yourselves hockey fans, but when driving through the city of Philadelphia on Sunday night, I could not find a SINGLE AM or FM radio signal that was airing the Hawks/Flyers game. Really? Poor form. Pearl dislikes:
Gif Created on Make A Gif

And the hockey gods spite the Flyers for this by having them lose 7-4. Three unanswered goals in the first period, something bad is bound to happen. This has to be the highest scoring SCF ever. I think I heard the highest in 30 years? But that was even pre-Game 5. Hawks can finish it up tomorrow. But let’s be honest. The Flyers will kill someone on the Chicago team before they let that happen. I’m not saying the Hawks can’t close, but I am saying the Flyers would rather send a teammate to jail for murder than to see Chicago lift the cup on their ice. So my money’s on the Hawk’s taking it in Game 7. Just for giggles.

Mwhahahaha! My Vanilla Ice sideburns will finish you! FINISH YOU.

Today is brought to you by “Field of Dreams,” which I watched last night on Versus, of all channels. That little girl is so precious. “Daddy, there’s a man out there on your lawn.”

Discussion

One thought on “prah family ‘prahgeny’ turn 1!

  1. 610 AM. Always. The hockey gods were punishing you for not telling my you’d be passing by the City of Prahtherly Love.

    Posted by Terry Casey | June 8, 2010, 2:09 pm

Leave a Reply

Prah 2.0 on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

