//
you're reading...
Hockey, pets, pop culture, sports

the ‘prahdigal’ daughter returns

I’m sure that title has some major Biblical ramifications, but I’m not owning up to any of them.

I AM HOME. Wow, I haven’t been home home since Christmas. I stopped by for a day on Easter, but that doesn’t really count because it was less than 48 hours.

And how lovely it is. I have missed having direct sunlight in my life. I think I may live on the sun porch this summer.

*ahhhhhhhhhhh*

Jack is already right at home. He’s already picked two favorite spots, the bay window in the living room (for sunbathing) and next to the frog statue in the porch. He just can’t figure it out. When he’s not in those places, he’s pretending he’s incognito:

where's jack? where is he? I CAN'T SEE HIM.

I spent today turning my bedroom back into … well, my bedroom. When I got home yesterday it looked something like the lost checked baggage room at an airport. I had to make a pathway to my bed and jump into it. So along with clearing that out, doing some laundry, and making sure Jack wasn’t eating any priceless family heirlooms, it’s been so so nice.

More SCF tonight! And as it turns out, I should have been cursing Versus. I KNEW IT WAS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE. I ended up leaving Nashville early Wednesday evening and stopped over in a Lexington hotel where, SHOCKING, Versus was not a part of basic cable, so my game consisted of frantic text messages from people who were watching the game.

In other news, I’m not a baseball aficionado, but in term’s of Galarraga’s near-perfect game, I have only one thought: Either you commit to the idea of the human element of baseball, or you stop bitching about bad calls and commit to installing instant replay into the game. That or the MLB is going to have to start a partnership with Corvette.

damn, I'll pitch an almost-perfect game any day.

I had this magical moment driving in the early evening through Kentucky, Wednesday. It was about 8 p.m., the sun was setting, I was driving past white-picket-fenced horse farms and brown horses grazing with their tails swishing. And on the radio came this bluegrass program. The first song was “Be Ready to Sail” by Claire Lynch. The mandolin solo almost made me cry. My window was down, the mandolin was so sweet, it was so completely serene and I was finally OK with not knowing what was next. I just had to be ready to sail. Sometimes you just have to let the universe come to you, and I’ve finally learned to recognize the universe in moments like that. Click the photo for the song:

Today is brought to you by sunlight. Literally. Now go get some.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Prah 2.0 on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

