//
you're reading...
in the news, pop culture

self-’praduced’ sad blog

I’ll write this now because tomorrow night I won’t have Internet. (God, I hate capitalizing “Internet.”)

Tonight I had dinner with a friend of VSC, a man who’s been in “the biz” for quite a while and takes to keeping up on all the kids that make their way through Vanderbilt student media. He was asking me about all the student journalists I worked with at Vanderbilt this year. I was rattling off about Hannah’s summer in Africa, Namm’s new editorship, Syd’s Teach for America position in Baltimore, Katherine’s gig in D.C., Sara’s Dow Jones spot in Cape Cod.

It feels cheesy to say, but it needs at least to be written. I am so pleased to have gotten to know and work with all of you at Vanderbilt. I hope I taught you something, even if it is just what a “boilerplate” is (it’s important! It will save you time!). I have absolutely learned something from each and everyone of you, even outside of journalism:

1. Even though it really sucks sometimes, to never be afraid to wear my sports teams on my sleeve (Rutz).

where the party at?

2. That being silly sometimes is necessary (Sara).

from left to right: Katherine, me, Courtney, Sara and Hannah. oh, and Rutz is the baby.

3. To appreciate small children while they’re still small (Hannah).

they're not babies, but you get the picture

4. To search for a REAL boy and not the fake imitations running the streets these days (Katherine).

I'm telling you, real men wear Dockers. you can spot them a mile away.

5. A fabulous outfit really can make you feel better (Courtney).

i feel fabulous just looking at this.

6. To keep your nose to the grindstone when you know it’s really worth it (Kyle).

Marsha, Marsha, Marsha ... 😉

7. And that couch in the newsroom is REALLY comfortable (Rutz + Kyle).

i never had the pleasure of napping on said couch, but i think this tells you everything you need to know.

There’s a lot I’m leaving out, but it’s what my stream of consciousness is providing me at the moment.

But even outside of my job, it’s been quite interesting. I became a pet owner, a 5K+ runner, a champion pancake eater (good thing about the running then, in that case), an online dating explorer, an on-again-for-life coffee drinker, world traveler, master baker, better cook, fiction writer, blogger, Tweeter. Oh, I could go on. Eh, not really. But that’s a lot for one whole year, no?

This is all to say, my year in Nashville has been grand, and there’s a lot of people responsible for that.

People here in Nashville:

love ya, meg

… and people back home:

Papa Prah, Meg, Momma Prah and me (sunburnt)

… in D.C. and New York:

someone get married this summer, quick!

… in Florida:

BABIES!

… in England for heaven’s sake:

Oxford Circus, Adam's attempt at thuggery on display xxx

I’m trying to come up with some cutting edge way to wrap this up, but all I can think of is …

“I’ll be back, now, hear?”

the end.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Prah 2.0 on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

